Cuadrillas of Álava

The Historical Territory of Álava is organised into seven supra-municipal administrative areas known as cuadrillas. This participative form organisation is designed to consult on and handle matters of general interest within its area.

The origins of the cuadrilla as the main subdivision of the territory of Álava date back to the 16th century.

Today, Álava has the following cuadrillas:

The Cuadrilla of Añana lies in the west and southwest of the province. It is usually known as Valles Alaveses (the Álava Valleys) because it is made up of several valleys formed by rivers that flow into the river Ebro. It consists of ten municipalities and is the largest cuadrilla. Its capital is Rivabellosa.

  • The Cuadrilla of Ayala lies in the northwest, in the upper basin of the River Nervión. It has the second highest population after the Cuadrilla of Vitoria-Gasteiz. It consists of five municipalities. Its capital is Respaldiza.

  • The Cuadrilla of Gorbeialdea is north of Vitoria-Gasteiz, between the foothills of Mount Gorbea and the Llanada Alavesa plains. It is made up of six municipalities and its capital is Murgia.

  • he Cuadrilla of La Llanada Alavesa occupies the extensive plains in the northeast of the province. It consists of eight municipalities and its capital is Agurain/Salvatierra.

  • The Cuadrilla of Campezo-Montaña Alavesa stretches across southeastern Álava. Most of its land is over six hundred metres above sea level. It has six municipalities. The capital is Santa Cruz de Campezo.

  • The Cuadrilla of Laguardia-Rioja Alavesa lies in the south of Álava. It is renowned for its to winemaking. It is made up of fifteen municipalities and its capital is Laguardia.

  • The Cuadrilla of Vitoria-Gasteiz is a Cuadrilla in its own right. It is the smallest in area but is home to three quarters of the total population of Álava.

In 2008, the Provincial Council of Álava erected a flagless flagpole in the gardens of Plaza de la Provincia next to the seven that fly the flags of the cuadrillas. The flagless pole symbolises Alava’s historical claim to Treviño as its eighth cuadrilla. This two hundred and three square kilometre district lies entirely within Álava but has been an enclave of the province of Burgos since 1833.